The SFU Community Trust (the Trust) has two goals:

  1. Create a complete community on Burnaby Mountain, with a diverse selection of housing and a full range of shops, services and amenities.
    Currently over 3,500 residents have made UniverCity their home; in time, 7,000 more will join them.
  2. Build an endowment fund to support teaching and research at SFU.
    To date, UniverCity had contributed over $29.6m to the SFU Endowment Fund for research and education.

The SFU Community Corporation

The SFU Community Corporation is governed by an independent Board of Directors that includes SFU stakeholders, faculty and student representatives, as well as external members with expertise in real estate development, finance, law, and other related disciplines.

As trustee, that Board sets policy for SFU Community Trust, helping to shape the future of UniverCity.

Board of Directors

David Gillanders, QC
Board Chair, SFU Community Trust

Gordon Harris
President and CEO, SFU Community Trust

Dr. Patricia Hibbitts
Vice-President (Finance and Administration), Simon Fraser University

Julia Kim
Member SFU Board of Governors / Vice-President, RBC Global Asset Management Inc.

Rajiv Kozhikode
Assistant Professor, International Business/Management and Organization Studies, Simon Fraser University

Barry Macdonald
Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Howard Nemtin
President, Nemtin Consultants Ltd.

Bev Park
External Director / Corporate Director, Strand Consulting Inc.

Prof. Andrew Petter
President and Vice Chancellor, Simon Fraser University

David Poole
Member SFU Board of Governors / Senior Management Consultant, Scotiabank

Dr. Mark Roseland
Professor, Simon Fraser University (Faculty Representative)

Dr. Philip Steenkamp
Vice-President, External Relations, Simon Fraser University

Brian Taylor
External Director / Partner, Bull Housser & Tupper

Cody Wicks
Student Representative, Simon Fraser University

SFU Community Trust Staff

Gordon Harris
President & CEO

Dale Mikkelsen
Director, Development

Angela Nielsen
Director, Communications

Suzan Fairfield

Jesse Galicz
Development Manager

Pansy Hui  
Community Relations Assistant

Cheryl Stronach
Administrative Assistant

Emese Davies
Executive Assistant