The SFU Community Trust (the Trust) has two goals:

  1. Create a complete community on Burnaby Mountain, with a diverse selection of housing and a full range of shops, services and amenities.
    Currently over 3,500 residents have made UniverCity their home; in time, 7,000 more will join them.
  2. Build an endowment fund to support teaching and research at SFU.
    To date, UniverCity had contributed over $29.6m to the SFU Endowment Fund for research and education.

The SFU Community Corporation

The SFU Community Corporation is governed by an independent Board of Directors that includes SFU stakeholders, faculty and student representatives, as well as external members with expertise in real estate development, finance, law, and other related disciplines.

As trustee, that Board sets policy for SFU Community Trust, helping to shape the future of UniverCity.

Board of Directors

David Gillanders, QC
Board Chair, SFU Community Trust

Gordon Harris
President and CEO, SFU Community Trust

Dr. Roger Frie
Associate Professor, School of Education, Simon Fraser University

Bev Park
External Director / Corporate Director, Strand Consulting Inc.

Dr. Patricia Hibbitts
Vice-President (Finance and Administration), Simon Fraser University

Barry Macdonald
Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Howard Nemtin
President, Nemtin Consultants Ltd.

Prof. Andrew Petter
President and Vice Chancellor, Simon Fraser University

Dr. Mark Roseland
Professor, Simon Fraser University (Faculty Representative)

Japreet Lehal
Student Representative, Simon Fraser University

Dr. Philip Steenkamp
Vice-President, External Relations, Simon Fraser University

Brian Taylor
External Director / Partner, Bull Housser & Tupper

Julia Kim
Member SFU Board of Governors / Vice-President, RBC Global Asset Management Inc.

David Poole
Member SFU Board of Governors / Senior Management Consultant, Scotiabank

SFU Community Trust Staff

Gordon Harris
President & CEO
604-291-3138
Harris@UniverCity.ca

Dale Mikkelsen
Director, Development
604-268-6649
Mikkelsen@UniverCity.ca

Angela Nielsen
Director, Communications
604-291-3220
Nielsen@UniverCity.ca

Suzan Fairfield
Controller
604-291-5525
Fairfield@UniverCity.ca

Jesse Galicz
Development Manager
604-291-5959
Galicz@UniverCity.ca

Pansy Hui  
Community Relations Assistant
604-268-7992
Hui@UniverCity.ca

Cheryl Stronach
Administrative Assistant
604-268-6977
Stronach@UniverCity.ca

Emese Davies
Executive Assistant
604-291-4202
Davies@UniverCity.ca